Learn more for less - up to 30% off!
Click here to view all courses

Use offer code: JUNE24NZ
Learn now, pay later – payment options available

What is ITIL® 4?

ITIL® is an IT service management framework that has been used for over 30 years, to help organisations successfully implement IT Service Management (ITSM). ITIL 4 is the current iteration of this well-known framework, which brought it in line with modern digital challenges.

By certifying in ITIL 4, individuals will develop skills to improve their employability and ITSM capabilities.

When did ITIL 4 come into place?

ITIL 4 was launched in 2019 by Axelos (now owned by PeopleCert). This latest version expands on ITIL V3 to better reflect the modern business and IT environment. It reflects the fast-paced and complex working world that IT professionals now find themselves in, opening up ITIL to a wider range of individuals working across the digital landscape.

How does ITIL 4 differ from ITIL V3?

There are core differences between the ITIL 4 and ITIL V3 frameworks:

  • ITIL 4 introduces four dimensions of service management: organisations and people, information and technology, partners and suppliers, value streams and processes
  • Greater emphasis is placed upon delivering value co-creation for customers using the new service value chain
  • Rather than processes, ITIL 4 now includes a series of 34 management practices which have been split into three categories: general management practices, service management practices, and technical management practices
  • Unlike ITIL V3, the updated version can now be integrated with other ways of working and frameworks such as agile, DevOps, Lean, etc.
  • And more...