15% off e-learning, plus packs & blended courses

20% off virtual courses

Use offer code: EARLY0424SA
Learn now, pay later – payment options available
Enhance your career now
Was {{ configuredPrice() | ilxCurrency:currentCurrency }}
from {{ configuredOfferPrice() | ilxCurrency:currentCurrency }}
{{ configuredPrice() | ilxCurrency:currentCurrency }}
With exams
Request a quote
Course type: E-learning
Delivery: Online
Spread the cost

ISACA Certified Information Security Manager (CISM) Online

Certified Information Security Manager (CISM) is a globally accepted standard of achievement in enterprise security management. The course, closely aligned with ISACA best practices, demonstrates understanding of the relationship between information security programmes and business goals and objectives. It will enable you to design enterprise security architecture, deliver reliable service to customers and achieve IT compliance and governance. 

Course overview

About the course

The idea of approaching IT security from a business perspective rather than IT one is increasingly considered as a vital business driver; CISM stands out in this regard for its emphasis on business understanding and leadership. It will give you the skills to manage the ongoing security and adapt technology to your organisation.

By the end of this online Certified Information Security Manager (CISM®) training course, you will have full, working knowledge of:

  • Information security management activities and reviews of the infrastructure
  • Plans and performance of information security requirements 
  • Life-cycle-based risk management practices and principles
  • Risk management steps during events that might affect security baseline
  • Analyzing techniques for mitigating risks to acceptable levels


Gain an in-depth knowledge of the four CISM domains:

  • Domain 1: Information security governance 
  • Domain 2: Information risk management and compliance 
  • Domain 3: Information security program development and management 
  • Domain 4: Information security incident management 
  • Three months access to CISM learning 
  • ISACA kit and exam included
  • Official review manual from ISACA
  • Official CISM® review questions & explanations database

This course is offered by Simplilearn, a partner of ILX Group.

CISM exam is conducted three times a year in the months of July, September and December. To find the exam locations & dates go to (www.isaca.org/certification/pages/exam-locations.aspx).

Exam format

  • 4 hours (240 minutes)
  • 150 multiple choice questions
  • ISACA, the examining board uses a 200-800 point scale for calculating the marks; however, obtaining a minimum score of 450 or higher is mandatory to obtain the certification.

Please ensure you are familiar with the CISA Exam Candidate Guide available on the ISACA website to guide you through the  exam process and requirements.

The CISM certification is specifically for experienced security managers and those with information security (IS) management responsibilities:

  • IS managers
  • IS/IT Consultants
  • IT directors and managers
  • Security auditors and architects
  • Security systems engineers
  • Chief Information Security Officers (CISOs)
  • Chief Compliance/Privacy/Risk Officers

There are no pre-requisites to do this course or to take the exam. However, there are pre-requisites to earning the CISM certification.


CISM certification is a globally recognized professional requirement in the IT Security domain.

To be eligible to take the CISM exam, you must meet the following requirements:

  • Successful completion of the CISM Exam
  • Certification application within the five-year window post-exam
  • Accumulation of 5 years of experience in the Information Security Management field
  • Eligibility criteria for job roles under IS audit, control, assurance, or security experience can be found here
  • Experience required within 3 out of the 4 domain 
  • All applicable experience must fall within the past 10 years of the application
  • A minimum of 3 years of experience is required in three out of the four CISM job practice areas.
  • General Information Security Experience Waiver (optional) 
  • Overall experience in information security (up to a maximum of 2 years).
  • Substitutions for CISM Work Experience (Optional) - Only 1 may be applied and documentation required. Click here for more details

To become a CISM certified professional, you need to fulfill the following criteria:

  • A completed application must be submitted within 5 years from the date of initially passing the examination.
  • All experience must be verified independently with employers.
  • This experience must have been gained within the 10-year period preceding the application date for certification or within five years of passing the examination.
  • Three (3) years of the five (5) years of work experience must be gained performing the role of an information security manager
  • In addition, this work experience must be broad and gained in three (3) of the four (4) CISM® domains

Further information on all criteria is available on the ISACA website.

Why Choose ILX learning?

Corporate clients
corporate clients
Customer satisfaction
customer satisfaction