Facebook Pixel
Software Testing training Learn the fundamentals of testing throughout the software development lifecycle
From {% configuredPrice() | ilxCurrency:currentCurrency %} Was {% configuredPrice() | ilxCurrency:currentCurrency %}
From {% configuredOfferPrice() | ilxCurrency:currentCurrency %}
With exams
Request a quote
Course type: E-learning
Duration: 42 hours
Delivery: Online

Software Testing Foundation & Intermediate E-learning

A fully interactive multimedia based course designed for companies and individuals wishing to achieve Foundation and Intermediate level certification in the BCS Software Testing qualification scheme.

About the course

The ILX Software Testing Foundation course as been designed to prepare delegates for the Certified Tester Foundation Level examination. This Foundation level qualification is appropriate for anyone who wants more than a basic understanding of the concepts of software testing and takes approximately 21 hours to complete.

The Intermediate certificate is the next level of competency in software testing after the Foundation level and covers everything required by the BCS syllabus, with the emphasis on helping delegates to understand, remember and apply knowledge and applicable skills. Achieving a pass in this certificate provides evidence that the candidate has proven analytical ability, having gained knowledge and practical skills in the key topics required for practising software testing.


In order to sit the BCS Intermediate examination you must already hold the Software Testing Foundation qualification (formal name is Certified Tester Foundation Level examination).

  • 12 months online access to ILX's accredited Software Testing Foundation and Intermediate course
  • Foundation and Intermediate exam fees - must be booked within 12 months of purchase
  • A course user guide

Optional extras

  • A copy of "Software Testing Foundation: An ISTQB-BCS Certified Tester Foundation guide " and "Software Testing: An ISEB Intermediate Certificate" books

What's covered?

Foundation Certificate

  • Module 1 - The introduction
  • Module 2 - The fundamentals of testing
  • Module 3 - Testing through the life cycle
  • Module 4 - Static testing
  • Module 5 - Test techniques
  • Module 6 - Test management
  • Module 7 - Tool support for testing

If you wish to view the full Foundation syllabus it is available here.

Intermediate certificate

  • Module 1 – Introduction
  • Module 2 – Fundamentals of testing
  • Module 3 – Testing through the lifecycle
  • Module 4 – Static techniques
  • Module 5 – Test design techniques
  • Module 6 – Test management
  • Module 7 – Tool support for testing
  • Module 8 – Exam simulator

If you wish to view the full Intermediate syllabus it is available here.

Target audience

Those who require BCS/ ISTQB Foundation and Intermediate level certification in Software Testing with the possibility of going on to more advanced Software Testing qualifications.

Exams are taken at Pearson Vue testing centres.

Exam format

Software Testing Foundation exam 

  • One hour ‘closed book’
  • 40 multiple choice questions
  • Pass mark is 65% (26/40)

Software Testing Intermediate exam

  • One hour ‘closed book’
  • 25 scenario-based questions
  • Pass mark is 60% (15/25)

Why Choose ILX Group?

customer satisfaction
customer satisfaction
World class trainers

experienced trainers
Training globally

One of the largest providers
of PRINCE2 training globally