ITIL® Intermediate - Service Design classroom

2019 will see the launch of the highly-anticipated ITIL® 4. This new version of ITIL retains all the best bits of V3, but with more emphasis on collaborative working, along with a holistic end-to-end view of product and service delivery.

The ITIL V3 qualification will continue to be available until AXELOS advise that the transition period will cease. Therefore we would encourage you to transition to the new scheme as soon as possible. Once the V3 qualification is phased out, the Practitioner level certification will no longer exist. 

The IT Infrastructure Library® (ITIL) is the most widely-accepted approach to IT service management in the world. ITIL is a best practice framework that has been drawn from both the public and private sectors, internationally. It describes how IT resources should be organised to deliver business value, documenting the processes, functions and roles of IT service management (ITSM).

About the course

This course will help organisations to improve the quality of their IT service management. It will increase the understanding of ITIL principles and terminology, and the concepts, processes, functions and activities of service design. It also provides a detailed overview of the key elements of service design and provides the opportunity to sit the ITIL Lifecycle examination in Service Design. 

The ITIL Intermediate Qualification: Service Design Certificate is a free-standing qualification, but is also part of the ITIL Intermediate Lifecycle stream, and one of the modules that leads to the ITIL Expert in IT Service Management Certificate.

What's covered?

Upon successful completion of the course candidates can expect to gain competencies in the followings:

  • Introduction to service design
  • Service design principles
  • Service design processes – design coordination, service catalogue management, service level management, availability management, capacity Mmnagement, IT service continuity management, information security management – the warranty processes and supplier management (excluded are detailed knowledge of process activities, methods and techniques)
  • Service design technology-related activities
  • Organising for service design
  • Technology considerations
  • Implementation and improvement of service design
  • Challenges, critical success factors and risks

Target audience

  • Individuals who require an in-depth understanding of the ITIL Service Design stage of the ITIL Service Lifecycle, and how it may be implemented to enhance the quality of IT service provision within an organisation
  • IT professionals working within, or about to enter, a service design environment, who require an understanding of the concepts, processes, functions and activities involved

Exam format

  • Multiple-choice
  • 90 minute duration
  • 8 scenario-based, gradient scored questions
  • 70% required to pass
  • Closed-book
  • This course provides three credits towards the ITIL Expert Qualification in IT service management.

Why Choose ILX Group?

graduates in Australia
Australia flag
in Australia since 2010
Customer satisfaction
customer satisfaction